It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Background: Creative Commons (CC) - Licensing and OER
DISCLAIMER: Material provided is only intended as a guide. This guide is not a substitute for professional legal advice.
Khan Academy offers free practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard so that learners can study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Khan Academy's content is available for personal, non-commercial purposes.
The UWM Libraries Digital Collections draw from materials in Archives, Special Collections, the Curriculum Collection, Music Library, and the American Geographical Society Library. Images may be downloaded by individuals or libraries for personal use, research, teaching or any "fair use" as defined by copyright law.
The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center provides access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. Images may be downloaded and reused for educational purposes.
The Library of Congress provides access to noncommercial, high-quality content, from digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, to "born digital" materials, like Web sites. Whenever possible, the Library of Congress provides factual information about copyright holders of the materials but it is up to the user to make decisions about fair use of the materials.