Skip to Main Content

Health Information Technology (HIT) Resources: Evidence Based Practices

Library Resources: Evidence Based Practices (EBP)

Evidence Based: What does it mean?

Using Evidence as the Basis for Practice of Medicine

Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't
"Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients."
more...less...
Sackett, David L., et al. "Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't." British Medical Journal, 13 Jan. 1996, p. 71+.

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP) Database

Evidence Based Practice

University of Southern California Examples:

ASK. Create a focused, searchable clinical question.
ACQUIRE or ACCESS. Search for the information.
APPRAISE your results critically.
APPLY & ASSESS. Evaluate the effects of Step 4, reformulate and repeat process if necessary. Also look at your process and correct/improve as necessary.

-The process of evidence-based practice in occupational therapy: Informing clinical decisions (otseeker.com) [PDF]

Table of Contents for Medical Terminology Resources

What do you want? Discover more!

= Off-Campus Access through Library Links with active MyFVTC Credentials.
REMOTE CAMPUS & Guest Access to Databases (Search available but not Full-Text Access - Sign in with MyFVTC credentials to get full text.)
If you are on an FVTC Campus other than the main campus, you may need to access databases through this link.

Search individual resource collections by topic.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEMB)

Artificial Intelligence is Everywhere!

FVTC Library Guide: Artificial Intelligence (AI) News, Resources, and Tools
"AI Won’t Replace Humans — But Humans With AI Will Replace Humans Without AI" (Harvard Business Review)
When you need FACTS / RESEARCH GRADE materials : Use Library Resources like EBSCO Discovery Search (EDS) See examples below:
EBSCO Discovery Search: Artificial intelligence
EBSCO Discovery Search: ChatGPT
EBSCO Discovery Search: "ARTIFICIAL intelligence in education"
Using DEscriptor tag and limiting to full-text and peer-review
Not all authoritative information is available in a peer-reviewed article. Try these:
Bing: teaching or learning and artificial-intelligence
Duckduckgo: teaching or learning and artificial-intelligence
Google: teaching or learning and artificial-intelligence
Yahoo: teaching or learning and artificial-intelligence
Yandex: teaching or learning and artificial-intelligence
How to Search Google More Efficiently
Log in to your Gmail to create Google Alerts

When you create a Google Alert,you run a search, select [Create Alert] and pick the frequency.

chat loading...

About Us • Contact Us • FVTC Terms of Service • Sitemap
FVTC Privacy Statement • FVTC Library Services Accessibility Statement
DISCLAIMER: Any commercial mentions on our website are for instructional purposes only. Our guides are not a substitute for professional legal or medical advice.

Fox Valley Technical College • Library Services • 1825 N. Bluemound Drive • Room G113
Appleton, WI 54912-2277 • United States • (920) 735-5653
© 2024 • Fox Valley Technical College • All Rights Reserved.

The https://library.fvtc.edu/ pages are hosted by SpringShare. Springshare Privacy Policy.