Skip to main content

*LIST of Library Information: Why Libraries Rock!

We are here to help you define and fill your information needs.

We have more of what you are looking for:

1. FREE ACCESS: Get Around the "Paywall" by Using the Library. Don't buy articles off the internet. We’ve already paid for FVTC access to many of the articles. We can also get articles from other libraries for free, through the interlibrary loan process.

2. CURATED: Get Reliable Information at the Library. Library resources have been through editors and fact-checkers who focus on bringing you reliable information. Library databases provide you with tools for finding, filtering, and citing information.

3. FRIENDLY: Come to the Library for Personal Assistance. Friendly, highly-trained librarians are standing by, waiting to help you find the information you’re looking for. We can help you when yo get stuck.

4. EXTENSIVE: Providing More of What You Are Looking For. Not everything you need to know can be found online. There are lots of books, articles, videos, music, etc. that you won’t find using a standard search engine like Google or Yahoo. The Library provides access to the internet - plus a lot more.

5. COMFORTABLE: The Place to Go to Continue Learning. Sometimes you just need a quiet place to get away and focus on your work. Maybe you need to be alone, or maybe you need a common place to meet with a study group. Reserve a room now!

Computers, printers, office supplies; places & spaces.

 

Comfortable place to study and work: We have casual chairs and power outlets so you can charge your devices. Tables and office supplies next to the photocopier makes it easier to do those last-minute final touches to your project.  Color printer is in the Foyer; just ask for directions.

 

Friendly library staff: We can help you figure out what to do next, or find someone or some way to help you get back on track.

Group rooms you can reserve for those times when you need a place to be noisier or quieter than the open areas of the Student Success Center.  Rooms are not sound proof, but do provide some noise abatement. You can reserve 2 hours per day per email.

Technology at your fingertips: We have computer, internet, wifi, printing, copying, and scanning resources.

Tools to improve and maintain your expertise: Technology does not wait for you; you have to chase it. Use the Library services and resources to keep  learning, building, and using your knowledge and skills.

Tutorials and Guides:  Building up a knowledge or skill base means starting with a strong background foundation, then adding information and concepts in a logical and accurate manner.  Our Topic and Program Guides have relevant resource lists and tips to help you.

FVTC Librarians choose resources based on knowledge, experience and research. We strive to provide equitable, accessible, and useful resources.

 

Expertise: If we don't know how to find or do something, we can find someone who knows.  Our Librarians have a variety of skills and areas of expertise.

 

Convenience: You can come to the Library for drop-in assistance; contact us by email or by phone. Library staff can meet with faculty, staff, or students by appointment. In-class instruction is available in addition to the Topic and Program guides available online.

Resources: You can use our databases to pre-select peer-reviewed scholarly resources.  This raises the level of authority and reliability of your results. Otherwise, you can use our Evaluation and Internet Searching guides to improve your understanding of what kind of information is worth your time.

Compliance:  We use standards, frameworks and guides to improve the accessibility and usability of our physical and virtual resources.  Example standards and guides include: 508ADA,  ALA , UDL,  WAI and WCAG 2.1.

Neutrality: We encourage people to use multiple sources of information and to look for objective content to avoid the problems of our implicit biasesinherent biases and weaknesses for logical fallacies

Flexibility: Fast-paced changes in the information ecosystem demand  that library staff are flexible about meeting the information needs of our users.  Whether it is migrating from one format to another or changing databases, collection goals, or methods of teaching, we are willing to change, innovate and collaborate for mutual success.

Loading ...

Resources, Services, Research & "Up Your Game"

All you need in one place:
Come to the physical or virtual library to get the resources you need to learn about your interests, and create professional presentations.

Comfortable:
Come to the Library for comfy chairs and power outlets to charge your devices.

Convenient:
We have computer, internet, wifi, printing, copying, and scanning resources.  Tables and office supplies next to the photocopier/scanner make it easier to do those last-minute final touches to your project.  Color printer is in the Foyer; just ask for directions.

Free Access through Databases:  
We have databases of articles, books, videos & more. We pay for access to educational articles, books & videos - so you don’t have to. Get content for free at the library.

Room Reservation:
You can reserve a room day-of or in advance, for those times when you need a place to be noisier or quieter than the open areas of the Student Success Center.  Rooms are not sound proof, but do provide some noise abatement. You can reserve 2 hours per day per email.

Curated Resources: Librarians select the best resources and organize them to save you time.  Use our catalog to find items in the library.  You can find our curated resources online in Library Guides.

Flexible: Library staff are flexible about meeting the information needs of our users.  Whether it is migrating from one format to another or changing databases, collection goals, or methods of teaching, we are willing to change, innovate and collaborate for mutual success.

Friendly Staff: Come to the Library for Personal Assistance.  We can point you in the right direction when you need help.

Instruction & Research Assistance: You can come to the Library for drop-in assistance; contact us by email or by phone. Library staff can meet with faculty, staff, or students by appointment.  In-class instruction is available in addition to the Topic and Program guides available online.

Interlibrary Loan: When you can’t find it in our collections, you can request the item from other libraries. 

Start with a goal in mind. Plan your strategy. Give yourself time to do a good job. 

Library databases provide you with tools for finding, filtering, and citing information. This raises the level of authority and reliability of your results.

Otherwise, use Evaluating Sources guide to improve your understanding of what kind of information is worth your time.

We encourage people to always use multiple sources of information and to look for objective content to avoid confirmation bias. Note: Keep track of resources so you can cite them later.  This can be done easily by emailing resource results to your email account and keeping them in a separate email folder.

Life Long Learning is essential  to keep up-to-date in your field and to remain competitive in the workforce. 

Self Improvement

Soft Skills are Needed Everywhere.  Attitude can be more important that the skills you have when it comes to hiring & firing.

Loading ...

Mission & Values

Mission:

Library Services supports the mission of Fox Valley Technical College by providing information resources and services for the purpose of supporting student success and lifelong learning. We embrace continuous improvement to provide resources and services that are current, relevant, reliable, accessible, authoritative, and that provide a balanced point-of-view.

Values:

In addition to the Values stated by FVTC, we value curiosity, evidence-based decision making, and the ethical and logical use of old and new ideas. We support Affordable Learning practices such as providing Open Educational Resources (OER) to help lower the cost barrier for basic education courses.

About UsContact UsFVTC Terms of ServiceSitemap
FVTC Privacy StatementFVTC Library Services Accessibility Statement

Fox Valley Technical College • Library Services • 1825 N. Bluemound Drive • Room G113
Appleton, WI 54912-2277 • United States • (920) 735-5653
© 2019 Fox Valley Technical College All Rights Reserved.

The https://library.fvtc.edu/ pages are hosted by SpringShare. Springshare Privacy Policy.