Library Services endeavors to provide its users with an up-to-date collection of materials to enhance their educational experience. The primary mission of collection development is to acquire, through purchase or donation, resources that specifically support the college's programs.
Our collection development is now primarily through Faculty Driven Acquisitions: We are only buying paper books requested by faculty - as resources for their classes.
Suggestions may be submitted by faculty to firstname.lastname@example.org (Please provide as much information as possible - Author, Title, Publisher, Edition, Date, ISBN, Format and Cost.)
We are in the process of learning about e-books. In the future we will focus more and more on e-books, e-journals and other online resources, to provide equitable resource access to people that do not come into the physical library.
Updated Collection Development Goals:
The Library is not an archive, and we are not a research university. Therefore, all items in the library should be "Recent, Relevant and Used".
If the Library buys an item, it will be housed in the Library.
Library Services does encourage donations of useful materials, if they are new and relevant. Please contact the Library at 920-735-5653 to discuss the acceptability of the proposed donations before delivering them to the library.
BOOKS, DVDs, JOURNALS, ETC. All of the items available in the library can be found using the online book catalog. The library uses the Library of Congress classification system for most of the collection. Generic call numbers are assigned to some items, such as fiction paperbacks (FIC) and reserve items (RESV).
BOOKS on AUDIO CD Type audio cd into search box on the book catalog, and select Sound recording from Format menu.
RESERVES Reserve materials are placed at the circulation desk. Most reserve materials are to be used in the library only, but some instructors do designate checkout opportunities. DVD disks are also kept behind the circulation desk.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Instructors have set up some special collections for selected programs. These materials are located separately from the main collection stacks for easy access by students enrolled in these programs. Special collection materials do not circulate outside of the library except for use by the instructors.
All resource materials checked out may be recalled by the library.
PERIODICALS AND ARTICLES Current issues of magazines and newspapers are displayed in the reading area. Back issues are arranged under the tilted shelf or shelf below the current issue. Current issues are for in-library-use-only. Older issues may be checked out.
SGA COLLECTIONS The Student Government Association (SGA) provides popular movie DVDs at the FVTC Library. You can borrow up to three movies for one week SGA also purchases popular books for the library collection.
Fox Valley Technical College • Library Services • 1825 N. Bluemound Drive • Room G113
Appleton, WI 54912-2277 • United States • (920) 735-5653
© 2019 Fox Valley Technical College All Rights Reserved.